Grizzly Bear: Veckatimest

Grizzly Bear

Last week Brooklyn’s Grizzly Bear finally revealed the cover art, tracklist, and release date for their upcoming, highly anticipated album, Veckatimest. No studio cuts have surfaced as of yet, but live recordings of four tracks are currently floating around the blogosphere. The soaring sun-soaked pop of “Two Weeks”, which was unveiled on The Late Show with David Letterman back in July of last year, might still be my favorite, but all are excellent. And Ed Droste claims that the album versions of both “Two Weeks” and “While You Wait for the Others” are “fuller”, “livelier”, and “clearer” than the previous live incarnations? Plus the former will feature an appearance from Beach House‘s Victoria Legrand? Something tells me that behind Merriweather Post Pavilion, this record will dominate 2009.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download: Grizzly Bear – Two Weeks (Live on Letterman)
Buy: Veckatimest comes out May 26th. No avenues for pre-order yet, but I’ll post when one becomes available. [UPDATE: And it’s now available for pre-order from Insound on CD or vinyl.]

You can download the other three mp3s and check out Veckatimest‘s cover and tracklist after the jump.

Grizzly Bear - Veckatimest

1. Southern Point
2. Two Weeks
3. All We Ask
4. Fine for Now
5. Cheerleader
6. Dory
7. Ready, Able
8. About Face
9. Hold Still
10. While You Wait for the Others
11. I Live With You
12. Foreground

3 thoughts on “Grizzly Bear: Veckatimest

  1. Yeah I’m really looking forward to this release too. The album art is also pretty fantastic. Reminds me of a Brazilian jazz album from the 60s. Is it safe to project from these live tracks that this album could be their best release yet?

  2. Yeah, the art is definitely cool. And yes, from these songs I’m thinking it probably will be their best release. They really took their time with the recording and mixing/mastering too… should be great.

  3. Pingback: A New Bit Of Grizzly Bear And Other Fierce Animals « Loft And Lost

Comments are closed.