Animal Collective: Merriweather Post Pavillion

Animal Collective

Well, after a couple days of rampant speculation, we’re a little bit closer to an official confirmation that the new Animal Collective project hinted at on their website will in fact be a new album [Update: “It’s official”]. Cryptic updates have so far yielded video clips of some kind of incoherent demon-trout, an equally ominous tracklist unveiling, and the ghostly pic posted above. I’m betting that the reanimated corpse of a rabbit will reveal the cover art. Either way, look for Merriweather Post Pavillion on January 20, 2009. For now, watch Grrrnd Zero‘s excellent live footage of “Brother Sport” and try to imagine just how sweet the studio recording will sound (Click here for full widescreen).

Check out the tracklist for Merriweather Post Pavillion after the jump (with some additional links).

1. In the Flowers
2. My Girls
3. Also Frightened
4. Summertime Clothes
5. Daily Routine
6. Bluish
7. Guys Eyes
8. Taste
9. Lion in a Coma
10. No More Runnin
11. Brother Sport

[About halfway through compiling these links I stumbled across Gorilla vs. Bear’s similar post from yesterday. So, definite props to Chris for firsties. Head over there for a couple live mp3 links.]